IPra Home 
IPrA Home|Conference|Login 
Sachiko Ide

Sachiko Ide (IPrA President from 2006 to 2011) has been one of the Association's strongest supporters ever since its establishment in 1986. For her personal view of IPrA's mission, have a look at her website (http://sachikoide.com), where she also offers the possibility of an ongoing exchange of ideas on how to reach -- or adjust when necessary -- our common goals.

Jan-Ola Östman
Jan-Ola Östman (IPrA President for the period 2012-2017), also an active member of the Association from the very first day, is following in Sachiko Ide's footsteps. You can read and comment on  his vision of IPrA and pragmatics at http://blogs.helsinki.fi/joostman.


 Amaltas tree.jpg

John Gumperz, who served IPrA as its first President (from 1986 to 1990), was commemorated d uring the 13th International Pragmatics Conference in New Delhi, India, with the planting of an Amaltas tree (cassia fistula, or Indian golden shower) on the Indian Institute of Technology campus — a reminder of his  long and fruitful life, during which he made irreplaceable contributions to our understanding of language and culture, of  his modest, inspiring, and warm presence, and of his special connection with India.

Gumperz tree.jpg