IPra Home 
IPrA Home|Conference|Login 
John J. Gumperz Life-Time Achievement Award
IPrA will present a John J. Gumperz Life-Time Achievement Award for the first time during the 15th International Pragmatics Conference, July 2017, in Belfast, Northern Ireland.
  • Nominations:¬†
    • Who can nominate?
      • all and only IPrA members are entitled to nominate candidates
    • When is a nomination valid?
      • to be valid, a nomination should be signed by 20 IPrA members
    • Nomination deadline:
      • nominations should reach the IPrA Secretariat before 15 November 2016
    • Nomination procedure
      • download the nomination form below
      • fill in the name of your nominee and the names of at least 20 signatories (all members of IPrA) willing to support the nomination, and provide the requested motivation for your choice
      • return the form by email to the IPrA Executive Secretary (ann.verhaert@uantwerpen.be) before the deadline
      • NOTE: a member cannot send in more than one nomination form; if asked, however, a member may act as signatory for more than one nominee
  • Eligibility criteria:
    • nominees should have made a significant and internationally recognized contribution to the field of linguistic pragmatics, broadly conceived as the (interdisciplinary) science of language use
    • nominees do NOT themselves have to be IPrA members, nor is any past or present affiliation with IPrA required
    • members of the IPrA Consultation Board are NOT eligible
  • Decision:
    • Who decides?
      • the final choice is made, from the list of nominees, by the IPrA Consultation Board
    • Decision procedure
      • members of the IPrA Consultation Board select one of the eligible nominees by blind vote
    • Date of announcement
      • the end of 2016/early 2017
  • An award ceremony¬†will be held during the IPrA General Assembly on Tuesday 18 July 2017.
IPrA membership is fluctuating. But in your search for supporters of a nomination you want to make, you can use as a good indication the membership list that you can download from the Membership page of this website.
For the constitution of the IPrA Consultation Board (whose members are not eligible for the award), see the Organisation page.